A message on Monday morning Sept 16,2013 to the staff of Front Range Hospice

A message on Monday morning Sept 16,2013 to the staff of Front Range Hospice

I want to extend a heartfelt thank you for each you as we have been in one of the most stressful situations I have dealt with in my professional life. I was a discharge planner/social worker at Swedish Medical Center when the Columbine shootings happened. Yes, that was a stressful time but since I was not an ICU social worker, I dealt with the rest of the hospital and left that tragic event to others. I had some distance even though I was physically present. This is the first time in FRH history that we have been in Disaster Mode for more than 24 hours. Usually it is several hours. Our disaster plan works. I learned a few things and will update the plan accordingly but it works.

This week I anticipate a lot of supplies will need to be delivered, medications will need to ordered, patients/families will need a little more TLC. Please be prepared for this. As my minister said yesterday, everyone has a story and they need to tell it in order to get on the road to recovery and cease feeling so helpless. Let’s listen to each other and to our patients/families.

I have asked myself “where is God in this disaster of biblical proportions?” For me he showed up to make sure our deaths, since that is our business, occurred in our nursing home patients and not our home patients. She showed up in getting Char and Andrea home safely who were already working when I called the Disaster on early Thursday morning. He showed up in sparing Char’s home. Char is the only staff I know that was evacuated. He showed up in settling all of our patients down so we did not have major patient care issues develop. She showed up Friday when the preferred hospice for a referral source was unable to take on a Kaiser patient that was home with symptom management issues and we had her and her family safely tucked in in about 5 hours. She showed up yesterday when the rains began again in a torrential way and Erin was in Brighton. We got her safely home. He showed up when he put all of us together at Front Range Hospice. This has been an incredibly stressful time but a time when I am filled with gratitude to each of you, for each of you, and for my God holding us in the palm of his hand.

Thank you and please be safe out there.

About Front Range Hospice- Legendary Care

Front Range Hospice is a center for excellence in providing end-of-life care and we continue to strive to keep our company achieving distinction. Visit us at www.frhospice.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

