Employee of the Year 2015 – Amanda Christenson

Employee of the Year 2015 – Amanda Christenson

EOYAmanda’s supervisor Lydia Appling writes: This award has a special place in my heart.  I love that Front Range Hospice recognizes a monthly employee for the excellent job they do at Front Range Hospice in taking care of our patients, our families, our communities, and each other.  At the end of the year we get to look back at all the Employees of the Month over the past year and choose someone who stands out in many ways and reflects what Front Range Hospice stands for.

This year our CEO Pam Ware, asked me to recognize an employee that Front Range Hospice is very blessed to have on our team.

Amanda is proud to work with our team and loves the job. She is invested in not only being an exceptional employee but an exceptional professional.  Always looking for ways to improve their skills and provide hospice services in an ethical way.  Amanda has incredible communication and relational skills.  With all the skill and talent she shares with us, Front Range Hospice has benefited greatly and has been very blessed since they joined our team a few years ago.  I am very proud to announce that our Employee of the Year is Amanda Christenson!

Amanda writes: As long as I can remember, I have always wanted to be a social worker.  After graduating high school in Northwest Indiana, I entered the social work program at Ball State University where I completed my BSW.  A year later, I attended the University of Michigan where I earned my MSW.  The year in Michigan was a rough one, and not just because I pushed through the master’s program in a year; it was more the gloomy and freezing winter that did me in.  I vowed to never live in snow again and moved to Savannah, GA where I began my social work career in the beautiful, hot, humid, south.

While in Savannah I worked as a director of an adult day care center, caring for those with memory loss.  I later transferred to a local hospital where I worked on the oncology and general medicine floor.  While working in the hospital, I had two amazing social work mentors that taught me more than anything I had learned in the classroom.  I also gained an incredible amount of medical knowledge, which has contributed to my success in my current role as a hospice social worker.  After five years at the hospital, I moved to nearby Charleston, SC where I worked in long-term care.

During my career at the hospital and the nursing home I often referred patients to hospice.  I saw the difficult journeys they had been on and always saw hospice as an incredible gift to make them comfortable; something I couldn’t do at that time.  It was during my last two years at the nursing home that I knew I wanted to work in hospice.

Knowing that I love the mountains and enjoy spending time in nature, it seemed only right to move to CO (despite the fact that I’d have to live in snow again).  I flew to CO and researched a variety of hospices.  I already knew in my heart that Front Range Hospice was the hospice for me.  I took a chance and dropped off a good-old fashioned paper resume to the office, and to make a long story short, everything fell perfectly into place.  I am so blessed to work for this agency doing what I love to do.   When I’m not working, I’m either camping, hiking, or traveling across the world, meeting people from all different walks of life as well as spending time with family.

About Front Range Hospice- Legendary Care

Front Range Hospice is a center for excellence in providing end-of-life care and we continue to strive to keep our company achieving distinction. Visit us at www.frhospice.com.
This entry was posted in hospice, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

