Employees of the Year

Congratulations to our Employees of the Year- Jessica Mosness & Andi Boss!

Jessica Mosness, RN

eoy-frh

Holding the hand as someone takes their last breath…there is nothing in the world quite like the honor, peace, and beauty in this.  As I reflect on the months, weeks and days that lead up to someone’s last breath, it makes it that much more incredible as it takes a team approach and effort to get a patient and family to that point.  We as a team control patient’s symptoms, educate on end of life with family, support family, provide spiritual support and guidance, amongst other things, to get us to that last peaceful moment…it is a job I take very seriously and a job I do with my heart and soul every day.  It would be selfish to say one team member does it all, because that is not true.  I believe all of our work together makes what we do so magical and amazing.  Being Employee of the Year is the greatest accomplishment I have had as an RN and it is something I am very proud of, but thank you to my team and all of our staff for helping me and our patients because without that, I would not be what I am and do as well as I do.

I am often asked why do you do hospice nursing.  Aren’t you sad all the time?  And, my answer is this:  I believe being a hospice nurse is a calling.  It is a calling I believe I am blessed with.  I remember as a child I always thought I wanted to be a doctor.  I even started off college Pre-Med at the University of Wyoming.  However, life happened and my path and vision of what I wanted to do changed.  I had a best friend from high school that was in a terrible car accident that left her completely debilitated with significant brain damage.  I would drive up to see her as much as I could to spend time with her, give her arm/hand massage and I was so drawn into the hospice’s nurse’s role at the end of her life.  There was also my Grandmother and Great Aunt that I was blessed enough to help care for towards the end of their life.  I feel God has put “moments” into my life that have directed and paved my path towards hospice nursing.  My career gives me fulfillment in more ways than I could ever describe.  Helping someone and their family at the end of their life is an honor, a privilege and I am so beyond blessed to do this for a living.  I am even more grateful to get to do this for Front Range Hospice and Palliative Care

 

Andi Boss, RN

eoy-frh2

I’ve been a nurse for 15 years and never have I received an honor such as this. I never thought about Hospice as being a career path for me, but after losing my dad almost 3 years ago from a long battle of cancer I feel he sent me in this direction of being a Hospice nurse.  Being a hospice nurse is probably one of the most challenging jobs I have done in my nursing career.  It is incredibly rewarding to be part of a person’s final days, not only being there for the patient but I also get to help families find a way to cope with losing their loved ones and being a shoulder for them to cry on.  I don’t really deserve to be employee of the year for Front Range Hospice, I feel it’s a team effort and without the whole team I could not do my job.  Thank you all for the support you provide to me and to our patients.

About Front Range Hospice- Legendary Care

Front Range Hospice is a center for excellence in providing end-of-life care and we continue to strive to keep our company achieving distinction. Visit us at www.frhospice.com.
This entry was posted in Hospice & Palliative Care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment